Pages Menu
Categories Menu


Marita Macrae

Marita Macrae has lived on the northern beaches since 1970. After raising three daughters and working as a journalist and primary school teacher, she studied horticulture and bush regeneration at Ryde TAFE. Since 1990 she has been active in professional and volunteer bush regeneration mostly in the Pittwater area. She was a co-founder of Pittwater Natural Heritage Association in 1994 and is currently vice-president of the Avalon Preservation Trust. Other environmental memberships include the Australian Conservation Foundation, National Parks Association, Birds Australia and Australian Bush Heritage Fund. Her many Awards for bush regeneration include an OAM in 2004. Marita has been a PEF director since inception and is the current Chair.

Jo Tulau

Jo Tulau has lived on the northern beaches since 1983 and has worked to inform, inspire and engage the community to value and care for our natural environment ever since. After completing a BAppSc (Information) and GradDip (Environmental Management) she served as Manager of the Coastal Environment Centre 1997-2009 and then as Senior Natural Environment Officer (Sustainability) with Pittwater Council 2009-2014, before moving on to new challenges. Joanne is working towards a Master of Sustainability and Climate Policy, and is establishing a consulting practice specialising in reducing greenhouse gas emissions. She has been an active member of Pittwater Natural Heritage Association (PNHA) since inception and is currently Treasurer of Clean Energy for Eternity (Northern Beaches). Joanne has been a PEF director since 2015.

David Poppleton

David Poppleton grew up in Avalon and, as a student, fought for local environmental causes. After finishing a degree in Environmental Planning at UNE he went on to complete Post Graduate studies in Urban and Regional Planning and Urban Estate Management. David’s employment history includes development management with Lend Lease, marketing management with Leighton Properties, and company management as founding National Director of Colliers Jardine Residential. David is Vice Chair of the Pittwater Sustainability Committee and Chair of the Careel Bay Pittwater Protection Association, who have led the fight against inappropriate development. David has been a PEF director since inception.

Angus Gordon

Angus Gordon OAM, BE, M Eng Sc, FIE Aust, CPEng, NER, APEC, IPEA. Angus has lived in the Narrabeen area since 1970 following his graduation as a Civil Engineer. He initially worked at the Water Research Laboratory UNSW and obtained his Masters in Coastal in 1973. He has 48 years coastal management experience on projects in all states of Australia, and in Brunei, Dubai, Kuwait, Indonesia and Hong Kong. He has published over 70 papers, with an emphasis on understanding and using natural processes to manage coasts estuaries and lagoons. In 1976 he was appointed to established the NSW Government’s Beach Improvement Program and was subsequently involved in the development of the 1979 NSW Coastal Protection Act. He was appointed Manager Manly Hydraulics Laboratory in 1986 and General manager of Pittwater Council In 1996. He was Chair of the State Government’s NSW Coastal Panel and a member of the expert Panel that developed the 2016 NSW Coastal Management Act to replace the Coastal Protection Act. Angus has recently been appointed to the NSW Coastal Council advising the Minister administering the 2016 Coastal Act. In 2005 he was awarded the Pittwater Medal and in 2006 the Manly Daily Environmental Medal. In 2018 he received an OAM for services to the environment, planning and the community. Angus was a member of the Narrabeen Lagoon Committee and a founding member of the Warriewood residents Association.

Roberta Conroy JP, BA, PG Enviro Stud Macquarie University, has lived in Pittwater with her family for 25 years and is a passionate and long-term advocate for the conservation of natural and cultural heritage values. Rob brings to PEF her experience as Director of ARRDENT Environmental Planning and Management particularly in the management of parks and reserves, cultural heritage, fire and pest species management. Rob is a member of Northern Beaches Council Strategic Reference Group Environment making a substantial contribution to the Directions Paper 2017 and also has a strong interest in water management and the impacts of climate change. Also, as an ongoing executive member of the Bayview Church Point Residents Association and as an active contributor to several local and state government planning committees and advisory panels in the Northern Beaches area, Rob has achieved major outcomes for the protection, conservation and presentation of important environmental and community values and at the same time introduced strong governance principles for their ongoing operation.

Past Directors: Jara Krivanek, David Rissick, Bill Rooney, Lesley Stevens, Jim Longley, Alan Yuille, Geraldene Dalby-Ball, Cathy Griffin, Conny Harris, David James

View: Constitution | Trust Deed